top of page
Search

Coronavirus...An Unsettling Time

The Coronavirus crisis feels unimaginable. During this troubling time, I am trying to be at peace spending this extra time with my family. However, the uncertainty and global catastrophe leaves me feeling uneasy.


On a larger scale, I worry for our community and our country. I worry that not everyone is taking this seriously and as I watch things unfold in Italy, it’s absolutely terrifying. Even if people think they would survive the coronavirus and it’s worth taking their chances by not taking precautions, they could easily pass it on to someone who wouldn't.


On a more personal level, my heart goes out to all of the women with BRCA who have surgeries scheduled that have now been delayed. I know how grueling the emotional preparation is and the realities of what it feels like to have another day pass feeling like a ticking time bomb is inside of you. I am constantly thinking of cancer patients who are undergoing chemotherapy right now and are at extremely high risk. I am anxious that my exchange surgery (replacing the tissue expanders inside of my chest with implants) scheduled for end of April will be delayed, therefore dismantling my BRCA timeline of family planning and more surgeries.


For the time being, I will try my hardest to acknowledge my feelings and then focus on taking precautions that me and my family have control over. I will soak in each moment with my precious baby Ava and pup Sadie (whose birthday is today!) I will remind myself that our busy lives are on pause and to appreciate time at home with my husband. I will plan activities for Ava to enjoy indoors, bake a birthday cake for Sadie, take walks, read, contemplate...and try my hardest to just be.




30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page