top of page
Search

My 4 Legged Lifeline

Dogs love us unconditionally. The simplicity and depth of their love provides continuous joy and comfort. They foster compassion, responsibility, altruism and help us endure through moments of sorrow and grief. Studies show that dogs can play an integral role in the emotional well being of humans. According to the National Alliance of Mental Illness, dogs reduce stress, anxiety, depression, loneliness, encourage exercise, and improve overall health.



Anyone who has met my mini-goldendoodle Sadie can attest she exudes love, joy, and an overall enthusiasm for life. My intent in writing today is with hopes that our relationship can encourage others to seek this type of comfort in moments when they need it most. For me personally, this companionship comes from a dog but the same comfort can come from any of our furry family members like cats or rabbits.


There aren’t words to articulate the love I have for this dog and the support she has provided me (and my family). I truly don’t know how I could have gotten through this past year without her. While I was laboring at home for hours, Sadie didn't leave my side. During the darkest days of my Post Partum Depression, Sadie was there. The moment I came home from the hospital after having Ava, my often boisterous Sadie was there, calmer and more affectionate than ever.


But the thing that comes to mind most is my mastectomy journey. The weeks leading up to surgery I was swimming upstream emotionally and Sadie kept me afloat. During sleepless nights she remained by my side and no longer went to sleep on the floor when she got too hot. Sadie was my companion for all of my pre-op and post-op appointments, I feel blessed that my surgeons welcomed her with open arms. Dana Farber Cancer Institute in Boston is a nationally ranked cancer facility. People travel from all over the country to seek treatment here, the waiting rooms are always packed with cancer patients.


The benefits of Sadie coming to appointments with me were twofold. While she undoubtedly served as a distraction, moreover she cultivated the social bond between people. In an environment that I could typically describe as wistful and melancholic… Sadie somehow transformed the solemn ambiance and allowed people at least for that moment, to focus on the present. Whether it was the grandmother with stage 4 breast cancer that beamed when Sadie hopped onto her lap in her wheelchair or the newly wed who was recently diagnosed, Sadie emulated pure joy at each and every appointment.


One doesn’t need to have a dog to reap the benefits that these special companions can provide. Here are some ideas that come to mind:


  • Spending time with a friends pet

  • Dog walking and cat sitting on sites such as rover.com

  • Places that support socialization in puppies (I live near a place in the greater Boston Area called Dog Therapy where you can visit and play with the puppies!)

  • Many hospitals have therapy dogs even just in the waiting rooms! Ask the receptionist if this is something your hospital has and plan appointments on those days.

Sadie was by my side in the hospital until the moment I got wheeled into the OR and she is one of the first memories I have when waking up in the recovery room 8 hours later. During my days of recovery, Sadie was my lifeline. She provided endless cuddles and relentless love. She even knew to be careful with the drains and not to lay on my chest. Moreover during that time, Sadie and I discovered our passion for sharing her radiance with others. While her therapy dog training has come to a sudden halt because of the pandemic, we hope our story and photos provide you with a sense of consolation during these difficult days of uncertainty.




99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page